Town Celebrates League Of Women Voters During Suffrage Centennial

Photo: Honoring the League of Women Voters of Belmont: (from left) Ann Goldberg, Select Board’s Adam Dash, Amy Grossman, Penny Schafer, Select Board’s Roy Epstein, Board Chair Tom Caputo, Town Administrator Patrice Garvin, Maryann Scali and Pat Hawkins.

Maryann Scali first voted for president in 1956 when she pulled the lever for President Eisenhower.

“I liked Ike,” said the life long Belmont resident, who rarely missed the chance to cast a ballot. Years later, Scali and a dedicated group of women have been on the forefront of promoting access to the polls.

During the centennial year of women suffrage, the town celebrates the 86th anniversary of the founding of the Belmont League of Women Voters with a proclamation from the Select Board on Monday, Feb. 3.

The league’s purpose is “Making Democracy Work” by providing informational statements, sponsoring debates, publishes an annual voters guide for town elections, and generating interest in the political process.

Share This ArticleShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on LinkedInPrint this pageEmail this to someone


Leave a Review or Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *